Information Diary of Durga Puja in India.
Admission / Examination Notifications
Acharya Prafulla Chandra College, Kolkata

Established : 16th August, 1960 Type : Govt. Sponsored
President : Dr. Nikhil Chandra Halder Principal : Dr. Saktibrata Bhowmik
Former Name : New Barrackpore College Location : Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Affiliations : West Bengal State University Website :
Admission Information
Click here to view Admission Notices of session :
Contact Details
  P.O. - New Barrackpore, Dist. - 24 pgs(N), Kolkata - 700 131.
West Bengal, INDIA.
+91 33 2537 3297
+91 33 2537 3297
+91 33 2537 8797
How To Reach Us
Affiliation, Accreditation & Recognization
»Under Graduate
»Post Graduate
»Major Courses
»Distance Education
Course Details
The College offers various courses. Calcutta University's syllabus is followed at the undergraduate level.
Under Graduate Courses
Honours Courses Offered (Arts & Science)
  • English
  • Bengali
  • Sanskrit
  • Philosophy
  • History
  • Economics
  • Political Science
  • Journalism & Mass Communication
  • Education
  • Human Development
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Electronics
  • Computer Science
  • Zoology
  • Botany
  • Microbiology
  • Geography
  • Anthropology
  • Statistics
  • Food and Nutrition
General Courses
  • Molecular Biology
  • Physical Education
Major Courses

Major Subjects in Three Year Course

  • Advertising, Sales Promotion and Sales Management (ASPV)
  • Industrial Fish and Fisheries (IFFV) Professional Course (Self-Financing) Bachelor of Business Administration [BBA (H)]
Post Graduate Courses
  • Microbiology
  • Electronic Science
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Computer Science
Distance Education
»Netaji Subhas Open University (NSOU) :

The College has opened a study centre of Netaji Subhas Open University (NSOU) to provide opportunity of distant learning to those students who cannot attend regular classes in traditional colleges. Admission is going on in the following courses:

  • M.A. – Bengali / English / Political Science / History / Social Work / Education / Public Administration / MLIS. (Master’s Degree in Library & Information Science)
  • M.Sc. – Mathematics.
  • M. Com.
  • B.A. Hons. – Bengali / History
  • Post Graduate Diploma in Mass Communication & Journalism and Public Relations
  • B. LIS (Bachelor Degree in Library & Information Science)
»Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) :

Courses offered on convergence scheme of IGNOU.

  • Bachelor of Computer Applications (BCA)
  • Master of Computer Applications (MCA)
  • M.A in English
  • Bachelor in Library Science (BLIS)
»Distance Learning Course of Kalyani University :

The College offers Post Graduate Course in Bengali, English, History and Education under the Directorate of Distant Learning of University of Kalyani. It has already drawn good response from the remote districts like Purulia, Bankura, Darjeeling and Sunderban. Since inception nearly 4000 students have been enrolled here.Eminent experienced teachers from different institutions, colleges and Universities are counselling the PG students regularly.

  • M.A. in Bengali
  • M.A. in English
  • M.A. in History
  • M.A. in Education

Employment Generation Training Scheme (EGTS)

With financial assistance under Employment Generation Training Scheme (EGTS) sponsored and financed by Ministry of Information Technology, Government of India, the college provides opportunity for DOEACC ‘O’-level course.

APC College Computer Centre

The Institute of Computer Engineers of India runs a computer centre named APC College Computer Centre for all categories of students from inside and outside the institution. Courses offered here are tailor-made to meet the requirements of enterprising boys and girls.

College History
The partition of India witnessed a mass exodus of people of East Pakistan (now Bangladesh) to West Bengal. Among many refugee colonies that sprang up, New Barrackpore was one. Immediately after the need of food and shelter, demand for educational institution arose. This led to the birth of the college. The College started with a handful of students in a few rented rooms of a local school. But now it has under gone a complete transformation. Struggle is still there, but it is no more a struggle for survival but rather a constant endeavour to attain excellence. Named after the famous educationist Acharya Prafulla Chandra Roy, the college tries to propagate the ideals of the great stalwart and upholds the motto Service, Knowledge, Sacrifice. The college was established in the year 1960 as a Govt. sponsored Degree College. The college is going to observe its Golden Jubilee in the year 2010. Celebration will start from 16 th August 2009.
Facilities Available
»Free Studentship / Half-free Studentship
»SC / ST / OBC Stipends
»Students Benevolent Fund
»Students’ Health Home
»Campus Interviews
»National Service Scheme (NSS)
»Hostels (Girls)

Sponsored Ads


Neither we nor the colleges / institutions hold any responsibility on account of the accuracy of the content provided. we are not responsible for any inadvertent error that may have crept in the process of data aggregation. Kindly visit the respective college website for latest information.

This website contains consolidated links, admission information and online application forms for applying to several Colleges. We are constantly extending our support to Parents / Students who may face difficulties in understanding the various aspects of the online admission process. Kindly feel free to send us your queries and feedback by Clicking Here.

Administrative Software for Education

Other Colleges
Career Options
Entrance Examinations