Latest Updates
More Updates
News - After 54 years State run medical college inaugurated in Odisha

After a long gap of 54 years, a state run medical college has been established in Odisha. Named Saheed Laxman Nayak Medical College and Hospital (SLNMCH), it was inaugurated by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.
"It gives me immense pleasure to dedicate this medical college to the people of Odisha," the chief minister told.

Of the 3 government medical colleges in the state, the one founded last is MKCG Medical College at Berhampur in Ganjam district in 1962. The other 2 are SCB Medical College at Cuttack set up in 1944 and Veer Surendra Sai Institute of Medical Sciences and Research in Sambalpur district founded in 1959.

Pandit Raghunath Murmu Medical College at Baripada in Mayurbhanj district, scheduled to be inaugurated on Wednesday, would be the 5th such institute run by the state government. The state has some private medical colleges too.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik described it as another stepping stone towards his government's resolve to ensure inclusive, equitable and sustainable development in the state.

"My government is working earnestly towards promoting healthcare through strengthening of medical education and tertiary care by bringing it closer to community," he also said. Altogether 22 professors and 28 assistant professors have been recruited at the institute, named after tribal freedom fighter of the district Sahid Laxman Nayak.


Examination Results