#### **University of Calcutta**

#### **Department of Physics**

### Advertisement for Research Eligibility Test (RET) 2024 for admission to Ph. D. Program in Physics

Applications are invited for admission to the Ph.D. program in the Department of Physics, University of Calcutta in the prescribed pro-forma (attached).

An application fee of Rs. 100 is to be submitted online through SBI Collect <u>https://www.onlinesbi.sbi/sbicollect</u> (Calcutta University Online Payment -> Payment for Misc Fees -> Application for admission to PhD).

**Scanned copy** of the filled-in application form together with the SBI Payment receipt are to be uploaded through the google form <u>https://forms.gle/eTc5UXFU66mtf2zr6</u>

**Essential qualification: M. Sc in Physics.** Those in the **final semester of M.Sc** may also apply, provided they can submit the final semester marksheet before joining.

The eligible candidates will have to appear in a written examination of 1 hour duration to be held on **April 2, 2024 at 11:00 AM** in the Dept. of Physics, University of Calcutta. The syllabus of this examination is the Physics M.Sc. syllabus of this University excluding Elective and Advanced Papers. The successful candidates will be called for an interview during **April 2- April 4, 2024**. The final selection and allocation of supervisor will be on the basis of this interview. For details regarding areas of research of individual faculty members please see the departmental webpage <a href="https://www.caluniv.ac.in/academic/Physics.html">https://www.caluniv.ac.in/academic/Physics.html</a>

Candidates who have qualified in NET-JRF/NET-LS/SET/SLET/GATE/already obtained the M. Phil. degree would be exempted from the written examination, but must appear for an interview on the scheduled date. During the time of the interview, the candidate must carry all relevant documents in original.

Qualifying the RET will not in any way ensure any form of fellowship from the University.

The number of candidates to be selected (if found suitable) is not more than thirty (30), including reservations as per Government rule.

Last date of submission of forms: March 19, 2024 (2 PM)

Date of written test: 02/04/2024, Time: 11:00 AM

List of candidates eligible (from the written test) for the interview to be published on: 02/04/2024

Interview Dates : 02/04/2024, 03/04/2024, 04/04/2024.

The dept. can be contacted through <u>retphysicscu2024@gmail.com</u>



#### University of Calcutta Application form for Admission in the Ph. D programme in Physics

1. Name :

Paste a recent passport size photograph here

- 2. Date of Birth (DD/MM/YYYY):
- 3. Address for Communication:
- 4. E-mail address :
- 5. Mobile number :

6. General/SC/ST/OBC-A/OBC-B/Physically Challenged : *Tick whichever is applicable* 

#### 7. Educational Qualification:

Examination	Year of Passing/ Appearing	University	Special Paper	% of Marks *
B. Sc				
M. Sc				

\* Those who are in the final semester of M.Sc. should mention the % of marks up to the last completed semester.

# 8. Qualified in NET-JRF/ NET-LS/ GATE/ SLET/ SET/ M.Phil : Tick whichever (if any ) is applicable.

[Candidates shortlisted for interview must carry all documents pertaining to items 6,7 and 8 in original. ]

9. Areas of interest, in order of preference (see Physics Dept. web page)

1			
2			
z			

Date : Place:

## Department of Physics, University of Calcutta Ph.D. entrance examination (RET) 2024

Ph.D positions are available with the following teachers and in the following research areas:

Teachers	Areas of research			
Anindya Datta	Particle Physics			
Anirban Kundu	Particle Physics			
Sudipta Bandyopadhyay	Condensed Matter Physics (experimental)			
Debnarayan Jana	Condensed Matter Physics			
Parongama Sen	Statistical Physics			
Aritra Banerjee	Materials Science (experimental)			
Jayashree Saha	Statistical Physics / Soft Condensed Matter Physics			
Arnab Saha	Soft Condensed Matter Physics/ Statistical Physics			
Parongama Sen (CU) and Sanchari Goswami (Vidyasagar College)	Statistical Physics			
Debnarayan Jana (CU) and Sabyasachi Sen (Shyampur Siddheswari Mahavidyalaya)	Condensed Matter Physics			
Debnarayan Jana (CU) and Dirtha Sanyal (VECC)	Condensed Matter Physics			
Abhijit Bhattacharyya (CU) and Goutam Manna (Prabhat Kumar College, Contai)	Cosmology			
Indrajit Mitra (CU) and Goutam Manna (Prabhat Kumar College, Contai)	Cosmology			
Sudeshna DasGupta (Lady Brabourne College)	Soft Condensed Matter Physics/ Statistical Physics			
Nirmalya Pahari (Vivekananda College)	Photonics (experimental)			