Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file

Government Medical College

Government Medical College

Established : 2008
Type : Co-Education
Vice-Chancellor : Prof. D. Santharam
Dean : Dr. P. Swaminathan
Former Name : --
Location : Dharmapuri
Affiliation(s) : Tamil Nadu Dr. M.G.R. Medical University
Category : Undergraduate
Accreditation / Recognition : Medical Council of India (MCI)
Department(s) : M.B.B.S.


  • Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (M.B.B.S.)
    Duration : 5½ Years
  • Nursing Assistant (Male & Female)
    Duration : 1 Years


Every year 100 students are admitted (85 students under state quota and 15 students under All India Quota ). State Quota students are admitted based on the marks scored in Higher secondary Examination and All India candidates are admitted based on marks scored in AIPMT.

  • »  Seperate Hostel Facilities for Men's & Women's
  • »  Library
    • Internet facilities
    • Library fully Air Conditioner
    • Xerox facilities
    • Indian & Foreign Journal Available
  • »  Sports Facilities
    • Outdoor Games
      • Cricket
      • Foot Ball
      • Volley Ball
      • Throw Ball
      • Basket Ball
    • Indoor Games
      • Badminton
      • Carom
      • Chess
      • Table Tennis

The Government Dharmapuri Medical College was started in the year 2008. Dharmapuri district is located in the Northern part of Tamil Nadu State and the college is situated on Nethaji Bye Pass Road in the centre of Dharmapuri within limits of Dharmapuri Municipality. The College and the Hospital Buildings exist in the unitary campus and are well connected by rail and road. The college is affiliated to The Tamil Nadu Dr.M.G.R. Medical University, Chennai.

The Government of Tamil Nadu announced to start a new Medical College at Dharmapuri District in the Budget session for 2007-2008 in the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly. Subsequently G.O.Ms.No.251/Health and Family Welfare (MCA1) Department was issued on 16.07.2007 sanctioning the creation of Medical College. Based on the above Government Order, Dr.V.Kanagasabai,MD., was appointed as Special Officer to Co-ordinate and start the preliminary works for setting up the Medical College on September 2007.

This Medical College, previously the District Head Quarters Hospital was handed over to the Directorate of Medical Education along with the existing staff members on April 2008. The Foundation stone of the college was laid by the then Hon’ble Deputy Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu Mr.M.K.Stalin on 19.01.2010. The first Medical Council of India inspection was done on 01.05.2008 and the letter of permission (LOP) was successfully obtained from the Medical Council of India dated 15.05.2008. The First year MBBS Students were admitted to the College under the supervision of the then Hon’ble Health Minister Mr.M.R.K.Panneer Selvam and the Health Secretary Mr.V.K.Subburaj I.A.S. In the year 2009, separate Hostel Buildings for men and women were inaugurated. In the hospital, a new inpatient block with 500 beds and CRRI Quarters were inaugurated by the Hon’ble Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu Dr.J.Jayalalitha on 24.01.2012.

About 100 students are admitted, of which 85 students are under State Quota and 15 students under All India Quota. We have obtained the recognition from the Medical Council of India for the award of MBBS degree on 09-07-2013.

Error processing SSI file

Sponsored Ads

Error processing SSI file
  Error processing SSI file