Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file

School of Tropical Medicine

School of Tropical Medicine

Established : 1914
Type : Co-Education
President : --
Principal / Teacher-in-Charge : --
Former Name : Calcutta School of Tropical Medicine (CSTM)
Location : Kolkata
Affiliation(s) : West Bengal University of Health Sciences
Category : Undergraduate & Postgraduate
Accreditation / Recognition : MCI
Department(s) : Medical Science

Academic Programs :

Courses Duration No. of seats
Fellowship on Regenerative Medicine & Translational Science (FRMTS) 1 year 20
MD (Tropical Medicine) 3 years 5
MD (Microbiology) 3 years 5
MD (Dermatology, Venereology & Leprosy) 3 years 3
DTM&H (Dip in Tropical Medicine & Health) 2 years 12
DCP (Diploma in Clinical Pathology) 2 years 6
M.Sc. (Medical Biotechnology) 2 years 10
DLT (Diploma in Laboratory Technique) 2 years 30

Eligibility Criteria for M.Sc Medical Biotechnology :
Candidates qualifying B.Sc. (Hons.) in any branch of Life Sciences and allied disciplines/B.Tech. Biotechnology, Bachelors in Medicine with minimum 55% marks in the aggregate.

Candidates should bring all relevant mark sheets, certificates and other documents in original along with a set of attested photocopies.

Eligibility Criteria for M Phil in Regenerative Medicine and Translational Science :

  • MBBS (for Doctors), MSc in any branch of Life Science / M Tech Biotechnology / BDS / BVSc or equivalent degree and background; Students with Clinical Embryology and other paramedical courses and a minimum of 50% marks in aggregate, are also eligible.
  • Students will be admitted on the basis of a Theory exam / Viva to assess research aptitude / or other examination method as decided by the university from time to time.
  • All students who successfully completed the FRMTS Course will get preferential treatment in admission.
  • CITIZENSHIP: Indian nationals can apply under the General Category. Foreign nationals or Non Resident Indians or Indian nationals supported by NRI relatives can apply under the Foreign/NRI Category.

No. of seats : 30 (Thirty)

Duration of Course : 2 (two) years

Age Limit : No upper age limit

Method of Selection :

Selections for MPhil is through a 3 ‚Äď stage performance evaluation:

  • Stage I: Candidates will appear for an entrance examination (theory test) for 90 marks of 90 minutes duration in the subject. The result will be displayed the following day on the Notice Board of Examination Section. No individual communication will be sent. Special preference would be given to students who have successfully completed the Fellowship in Regenerative Medicine and Translational Science.
  • Stage II: Based on the performance in the theory test (stage I), candidates will be called for Departmental clinical assessment on the third day to assess the suitability of the candidate, keeping in view the practical knowledge of the candidate, ability to attain the high academic level in the discipline and aptitude for research and teaching. A maximum 90 marks have been determined for Departmental clinical assessment.
  • Stage III: Those candidates who secure 50% marks (out of 180 marks) or above in theory plus Departmental clinical assessment will be finally interviewed on the fourth/fifth day by the selection committee under the chairmanship of HOD Regenerative Medicine and Translational Science. A maximum of 20 marks have determined for the interview. Candidates who fail to attend any of the three stages mentioned above or secure less than 50% aggregate marks in the above three stage performance evaluation, will not be considered for admission

Information not found

  • »  Library
  • »  Laboratories
  • »  Facilities for Research
  • »  Post-Graduate Teaching
  • »  Training
  • »  Investigation and Treatment in Tropical Diseases

Calcutta School of Tropical Medicine (CSTM), is one of the seven such Institutions dedicated to research, care and cure of tropical diseases. CSTM was founded by Sir Leonard Rogers way back in 1914. The corridors of CSTM had regular footfall of eminent researchers like Leonard Rogers, Ronald Ross, R Knowels, UN Brahmachari, JB Chatterjee, RN Chopra and many others. The foundation stone of the Calcutta School of Tropical Medicine was laid by the Governor. Lord Carmichael in the year 1914 on 24th February at the initiative of Sir Leonard Rogers.

The School started functioning independently in its own building in 1921 with Lt. Col. JWD Megaw as the first Director, the first batch of students obtaining their Diploma in Tropical Medicine (DTM) in 1922. It is the only institution in India engaged exclusively in research, Post-graduate education and healthcare for tropical diseases. Basically, the objectives have remained uncharged and the school provides facilities for research, post-graduate teaching, training, investigation and treatment in tropical diseases. Presently the institute is under West Bengal University of Health Sciences that governs all the medical colleges in the state of West Bengal. The hospital section of the institute is known as Carmichael Hospital for Tropical Diseases.

Error processing SSI file

Sponsored Ads

Error processing SSI file
  Error processing SSI file