Centralised Admission 2024
Chandraketugarh Sahidullah Smriti Mahavidyalaya, Berachampa, 24 Parganas (N)
(Apply, Merit List and Admission Informations)
Latest Updates
More Updates

Established 1997 Type Government
President Anisur Rahaman Principal Dr. Saroj Kr. Chattopadhyay
Former Name Chandraketugarh Sahidullah Smriti Mahavidyalaya Location Berachampa, 24 Parganas N
Affiliation(s) West Bengal State University Category Co-Education
Accreditation / Recognition NAAC
Department(s) Arts & Science
  • Under Graduate Programme
    3 Years | Fulltime | Oncampus

  • Library

  • NSS

  • NCC

About College
Debalaya (Berachampa ) is an internationally famed site of archaeological interest because of ‘Chandraketugarh’ where the antiquities have been traced down to the post Mourya period and are still lying under the earth unexcavated. Our college was named after this glorious ‘Chandraketugarh’ and Dr. Sahidullah, great Philologist of Bengal and son of this soil. It was established on the 17th May 1997 under the affiliation of the Calcutta University as a degree college.
The long cherished dream of the people within this vast stretch of rural area encircling Debalaya in the district of North 24 Parganas for establishing and institution of higher education came into existence through the collective effort of the local people and the then representatives from the Lok Sabha to the Gram Panchayet of this locality who did a lot for the establishment of this institution. They had in their mind the constraints and problems faced by the students in persuing their studies in the nearest college minimum of 20 k.m apart having poor transport facility.
The female students in particular, belonging mostly to the minority and backward communities, had to abandon their studies just after schooling. Students of poorer sections and mostly first generation learners had to experience the same. To overcome this, people from every walk of life spontaneously came forward with their humble and generous contributions for the cause of this college.
The foundation stone of this college was laid down by Hon’ble Finance Minister, Govt of W.B. Prof. Ashim Dasgupta as chief guest on this occasion Prof. Satyasadhan Chakraborty Hon’ble Ex-Minister in charge of Higher Education. Govt. of W.B. was also present initially the college started functioning in the venue of Acharya Jagadish Chandra Basu Polytechnic college with three to four rooms, on the 1stweek of August, 1997. Primary General Degree course in Arts was introduced with the combination subjects of Bengali ,Education, English ,History ,Philosophy and Political Science. Subsequently Honours courses in all these subjects and sociology have been extended affiliation by the University after being shifted to the own building of the college on the 8th August, 2012 at Kaukepara. In the mean time, Vocational Courses at x+2 level in Home Science and Agriculture under the affiliation of the West Bengal State Council of Vocational Educational &Training have been incorporated since 2005. A museum on Chandraketugarh has been set up within the college premises
Disclaimer Neither we nor the colleges/institutions hold any responsibility on account of the accuracy of the content provided. we are not responsible for any inadvertent error that may have crept in the process of data aggregation. Kindly visit the respective college website for latest information.
This website contains consolidated links, admission information and online application forms for applying to several Colleges. We are constantly extending our support to Parents/Students who may face difficulties in understanding the various aspects of the online admission process. Kindly feel free to send us your queries and feedback by Clicking Here.
Examination Results 2024
Examination Schedule 2024
Notifications 2024
News Updates 2024