Centralised Admission 2024
Kandi Raj College, Murshidabad
(Apply, Merit List and Admission Informations)
Latest Updates
More Updates

Established 1950 Type --
President Dr. Bikas Sinha Principal / Teacher-In-Charge Prof. Dwarakeswar Datta
Former Name -- Location Kandi, Murshidabad
Affiliation(s) University of Kalyani Category Co-Education
Accreditation / Recognition UGC Department(s) Arts & Science
  • Under Graduate Programme
    3 Years | Fulltime | Oncampus

  • Library

  • Canteen

  • NSS

About College
With the establishment of Kandi Raj College in 1950 the long cherished dreams of the people of Kandi Sub division were finally fulfilled. With just 61 students, the college started its journey on 4th September, 1950, occupying only five rooms of Kandi Raj High School. At that time it was affiliated to Calcutta University. Today it has its own building complex and boasts of a student strength that is in excess of 2,000.
In the beginning the college offered only Intermediate courses. Government of West Bengal elevated it to the status of “Government Sponsored” during the academic session 1956-57. Under-graduate courses first started in 1957-58. Then in 1959-60, honours courses in Philosophy and English were introduced. Gradually honours courses in Economics, Mathematics and history were introduced in 1961, 1963 and 1967 respectively followed by Bengali and Chemistry in 1969. In later years (1996) honours courses in Physics and Political Science were launched. More recently, from the 2007-08 academic sessions, honours course in Sanskrit has commenced. Honours Course in Geography has been introduced very recently, (2012).
The college started its illustrious journey under the auspices of the First President of the Governing Body, Late Kumar Arun Chandra Sinha and the First Principal, Late Dr. D.L. Das and continued to prosper under the guidance of Late Kumar Bimal Chandra Sinha, Late Kumar Brindaban Chandra Sinha, Late Kumar Jagadish Chandra Sinha and Late Girija Kishore Ghosh and countless others, whose contributions had helped the college to make a permanent mark in the spread of education in the Kandi sub division. That legacy has continued under Late Kumar Atish Chandra Sinha, who was until recently has been the President of the College.
After the sad demise of Kumar Atish Chandra Sinha in March, 2010, his brother Dr. Bikash Chandra Sinha, the renowned scientist, educationist has taken the chair of the President of the college. Dr. Sinha, presently the Director of Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics as also the Director of Variable Energy Cyclotron Center, Kolkata, has been at the forefront of India’s Nuclear Physics Mission for over three decades nwo. His unparalleled wisdom, courageous leadershop and contagious optimism will certianly lead us to an era of great success.
Disclaimer Neither we nor the colleges/institutions hold any responsibility on account of the accuracy of the content provided. we are not responsible for any inadvertent error that may have crept in the process of data aggregation. Kindly visit the respective college website for latest information.
This website contains consolidated links, admission information and online application forms for applying to several Colleges. We are constantly extending our support to Parents/Students who may face difficulties in understanding the various aspects of the online admission process. Kindly feel free to send us your queries and feedback by Clicking Here.
Examination Results 2024
Examination Schedule 2024
Notifications 2024
News Updates 2024